BBL – All you need to know!

Big bash league(BBL) is the T20 format with some changes in the rules to make the game interesting and entertaining. KFC is the official sponsor of the league organized by the Australian cricket board. The league was played during the month of summer with eight teams named from various parts of Australia. Read more about Women’s Big Bash League.



BBL tournament began in 2011 after finding the popularity of  IPL. Took it as a role model, and started to develop by scrapping KFC T20 Big Bash and forming KFC T20 Big Bash League. What changes?! You think the title is the same but the changes made!!! Earlier the tournament was a domestic T20 league played with six home teams. Now they made it open for worldwide players to take part in the tournament to show their talents and skills. To make it better and bigger.


After the definitive decision BBL was introduced with eight teams. But suggestions are kept in front of the BBL board to expand the game alongside New Zealand teams. To make it a trans-Tasman competition and still the decision is pending but the board has an idea to expand the eight to ten teams in the upcoming season. Read more about ECB’s The Hundred.


The first four overs are mandatory powerplay and the other two overs can be taken after between 11-18 overs is a power surge with only two fielders allowed outside the thirty-yard circle.

Bash boost point is given to a team when a side strikes out the halfway mark of the target in 10 overs or if a bowling side defends it gets that one point.

X-factor- The 12th or 13th player in the squad gets a chance to renew the player who didn’t bowl more than one over and yet to bat.

Free hit for a bowler, when the batsman failed to enter the pitch in 75 seconds, after the dismissal of previous, the bowler was given a chance to hit the stumps without the batsman. If the bowler hits the stumps, the batsman is given out. If not, he starts his innings. Read more about Laws Of Cricket.


Double round-robin rounds winner carries two points, The top five teams are qualified for playoffs. One and two will play for first place in the finals which is a qualifier. four and five for the eliminator. The third and winner of the eliminator will play for the knock-out semi-finals. The loser of the qualifier and winner of knock-outplay the challenger round are considered to be preliminary finals, and the winner of the match takes second place in the final.


Perth Scorchers and Sydney Sixers are each three-time title holders.

Individual Records

Chris Lynn is the leading run-scorer of the tournament with 2790 runs.


Sean Abbott with 112 wickets in the tournament.

The league has attained step-by-step growth by increasing in views, ground attendance, making the youngsters watch the game. Only because of making interesting and exciting changes in the rules. The hard-hitting batsman and sharp bowlers keep the game admired.

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Scroll to Top