T20 Mumbai league – Wankhede spectacle. Everything you want to know!

It is started in the year 2018 to bring out the talents from Mumbai to provide knowledge in the game and a complete guide for the future development of players. Administered by Mumbai Cricket Association 

Mumbai Cricket Association 

Mumbai Cricket Association (MCA) was created in 1930 is the governing body for cricket in Mumbai, Greater Mumbai and Thane districts. MCA is a stable member of the Board of Control for Cricket in India (BCCI). More than 60 Test cricketers in the country came from Mumbai until now. There was even a time when the Indian playing eleven consisted of six to seven cricketers from Mumbai that showed how good they have been at the highest level.

Teams in the tournament


In season one there are 6 teams from various places in Mumbai chosen to play, with few changes brought in season two adding two teams and dividing them into 2 groups consisting of four each.


Mumbai T20 league telecast rights bought by star sports network.


Season 1 was played in a round-robin format with the top two teams going for finals. In season 2 top two from each group qualified for the semi-finals. It takes place in type group A 1 vs group B 2 other group A 2 vs group B 1 then winners move to the finals.


The winner of the match gets 2 points and teams with the same point in the group their net run rate will be taken into account.


Season 1 winners 

Triumph Knights Mumbai Northeast 

Season 2 winners

North Mumbai Panthers

Individual Records

Season 1

The highest scorer of the tournament was Shreyas Iyer with 363 runs including five 50s in 6 matches.

Badrey Alam was the leading wicket-taker of the tournament, 12 wickets and one five wickets haul in 7 matches.

R Pankaj Sharma took 8 catches in 8 matches.

Shivam Dubey player of the series

Season 2

Prithvi Shaw 249 is the most runs scored by a batsman in the tournament and took eight catches in six matches and was awarded a player of the series.

J Bista is the only centurion in the tournament.

D Matkar 15 wickets in 7 matches, with one five-wicket haul in the tournament, is the leading wicket-taker.

Big Names with good performance with bat and ball in the Mumbai T20 league tournament.

Suriya Kumar Yadav

Shreyas Iyer

Prithvi Shaw

Shivam Dubey

Arjun Tendulkar

Sarfaraz Khan

Read more about KPL and TNPL and also the Syed Mushtaq Ali tournament.

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Scroll to Top