Vijay Hazare Trophy – All there is to know!

A pleasant day to all sports readers today’s topic about first-class domestic cricket. Be excited to read but it’s not about the red ball, Ranji trophy. Coming back to the topic, it’s an interesting white-ball format, the Vijay Hazare Trophy.

Vijay Hazare

Vijay Samuel Hazare, born in Sangli on 11th March 1915 one of the finest players in first-class cricket, the fastest player to score three consecutive centuries, the first Indian to score a triple century. During his captaincy, India crunched its first test victory nearly 20 years after getting the test team’s reputation. His batting average in first-class matches was 58.38 he was even stronger in bowling with medium pace taking 595 wickets which includes 3 ten-wicket hauls in a match. After his retirement from active cricket, he was administered as the Indian team selector. Jasu Patel and Vijay Hazare were awarded the Padma Shri praise for their domestic achievements.

History of Vijay Hazare trophy

The tournament was inaugurated in 1993 to pay to respect to the contributions made by the legend Vijay Hazare.38 teams to play the tournament with various rounds. 


Teams are sorted based on the fair points taken in 3 previous seasons. North, East, West, South, Central zonal teams and they are Group A, B, C, D, E, and plate group were A, B, C, D, E consisting of 6 each and plate having 8.

Format of the game

From 1993-2002, there were multiple winners in the zone and there was no single team to take the trophy, so changes were made in the tournament.2 teams were in finals for the first time in 2003-04.In 2004-05 play-off, semi-finals, finals. In 2014-15 teams are divided into 5 zonal groups, and in 2015-18 it was reduced to 4 zonal groups. Once again few changes were made. Teams participating were divided into 5 groups with a plate group.


The team’s facing others in their group the top ones in all 5 will qualify for the quarter-final. From the plate group, only one will be taken to the next round which is the pre-quarterfinal for them. The team which ends the group stage in second place in the remaining group will be playing pre-quarterfinals. In which only 3 winning teams move to the quarterfinals, semi-finals, finals

Point system in Vijay Hazare trophy

The winner gets 4 points each for a match when 2 teams have the same points, their Net run rate will be considered for qualification.


Tamilnadu was the 5-time title winner, Mumbai, with 4. Himachal Pradesh with the first-ever title wins in the 2021 season by VJD Method.

Individual Records

Nadeem, the left-arm spinner taking 8/10 was the best bowling figure in Vijay Hazare. Yashpal Singh the middle-order batsman scored 3193 runs in 72 matches 2008-19.

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Scroll to Top