Odisha premier league – Everything You need to know!

The league was conceived to bring the new talents with fresh skills techniques from the players of Odisha providing proper guidelines and infrastructure, to train the players for their bright future.

Odisha cricket association 

In 1949 OCA was associated with the BCCI which oversees the cricket activities in Odisha. The state has developed four brilliant cricket players contributing to the team India.OCA supervises the popular Barabati Stadium, Odisha cricket academy and newly built Sachin Tendulkar Indoor cricket hall.

Orissa Cricket Association Headquarters


An Open Call was made for the team owners to participate in the auction, ten teams with a base price of four lakhs were set.


Players are selected based on their ranking and experience, a total of 341 players were found to participate in the auction. From season two the players were reduced to 176 for the league.


These 341 players are divided into six grades for the auction. Garde-A players with list A and domestic season experience their base price of 60000, Grade-B with under 22 and base price 40000, Grade-C with under 19 and former players of Odisha and their base price 20000, Grade-D with under 16 and remaining players in Grade-E. The base price for D, E is fixed as 10000. In season two the players and team strength were reduced so that the base price of Grade-A players bought to 50000.


A team of eleven were named based on the cities given. kendrapara the team were the owners not interested, the remaining ten were taken by the owners.


In the first edition, ten were played in round-robin and semifinals in knockout games from the second season, ten was reduced to eight and divided into two groups the same system was followed along with the fight for third place.


Four points were given to the winner’s teams staying with the same points in the table; their net run rate will be taken into account.


The matches were telecasted on local TV channels.


e6770 16104777861297 800

Three seasons happened from 2011-2020 with three different winners in the tournament

Individual records

Subit Biswal was the leading run-scorer of the tournament.

Bidhudutta Panda was the leading wicket-taker of the tournament.

The 2012 season was canceled due to no interest shown by the franchise owners due to no popularity of the tournament, no availability of popular players, no national tv channels came forward to telecast the match, still the same continues. Further talks with the owners, OCA decided to cancel the tournament in 2012 and decided to reduce the teams from next season.

Read more about KPL and TNPL Mumbai T20, Telengana T20 and also the Syed Mushtaq Ali tournament.

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Scroll to Top