Women’s Cricket World cups – Everything you need to know!

The world cup was played from 1973 in a one-day international 50 over match. The world cup was conducted by ICC before the merging of women’s cricket association India in 2005 then from the time, it became regular for the ICC to inaugurate the world cup every four years. In 1978 India hosted the second world cup with only four teams due to the financial crisis; the remaining teams like West Indies and the Netherlands didn’t come up.


1982 was the longest world cup triple round-robin format was applied between five countries.1988 India was not part of the world cup due to no financial support. In 1997 eleven teams were divided into two groups where the host India lost the match in the semi-finals including the year 2000. In 1993, 2005, 2009, 2013 India was knocked out in league stages but in 2017 India was the runners up. The 2021 world cup was postponed to 2022 due to covid concerns.


In 1997 eleven teams participated in the world cup and then it was reduced and fixed with eight teams from the 2029 edition it will be ten teams’ said sources. Teams are selected by conducting world cup qualifier matches and ICC championships which will be happening before the start of the tournament. Due to the Covid-19 variant change, world cup qualifier matches in 2021 were called off, 4 teams along with the host were already qualified the remaining 3 places were filled with ODI rankings.

Power play rules

A 25-yard circle with shorter boundaries was used in women’s cricket. During powerplay between 11-40 overs, five players are allowed outside the circle, a five-over of batting powerplay allows three fielders outside the circle. Read more about Women’s ODI Cricket.


Round robin format in the starting matches and semi-finals are played in Knockout, winners decided in finals.


GettyImages 821256674

Australia with six-time world cup winners 1978,1982, 1988,1997,2005,2013.

England four-time title winners 1973,1993,2009,2017.

Individual Records 


DA Hockley of New Zealand with 1501 runs leading run-scorer of the world cup tournament.

JA Brittin of England with second-highest 1299 runs scorer.

CM Edwards of England with 1231 runs.

BJ Clark 229 in 155 balls in 1997 highest individual score registered in the world cup.

CM Edwards with most hundreds 4 and 7 fifties in the world cup.

123431 jqzgmjktcc 1562558505


LA Fullston the Australian bowler with 39 wickets in the world cup tournament

CA Hodges of England the right arm off-break with 37 wickets.

CE Taylor of England with 36 wickets.

J Lords 6/10 best bowling figure in an innings.  

SA Tredrea 1.87 best economy in the world cup.

Read more :
Women’s Cricket
Women’s Test Matches
Indian Women’s Cricket 

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Scroll to Top